poplapv.blogg.se

New york city skyline black and white
New york city skyline black and white













new york city skyline black and white

You need a design commissioner, somebody to go out to that spot I was talking about on the Long Island Expressway and make an assessment and start giving fines. I wish people would stop messing around with the skyline. But now there’s this other skyscraper behind it that has kind of a zigzag-y pattern of lights that makes it look like the Chrysler building got fatter. There was nothing better than the Chrysler building. Buildings with satisfying proportions are starting to disappear. If you could sort of just reduce it by 25 percent, it would be all right. It dwarfs everything in a bad way and it makes everything look imbalanced. The so-called One World Trade Freedom Tower. What building or object do you want to redesign every time you see it? I guess it’s usually a pad and a glass of water.ĭriving back from either LaGuardia or Kennedy, there’s a part of the Long Island Expressway that’s high on a hill right when you’re starting to slide down to the Midtown tunnel where you have this perfect view of the New York City skyline. What do you always have next to your computer? And also because they collect some of my work. I go there because I like to be mad at it when I’m mad at it. I go there because if it disappoints, there’s always a gallery I go into that doesn’t. MoMA - I go there because it never disappoints. What New York City museum do you always go back to? They’re leather with a heel and come right up to the knee. I have three pairs of boots that are exactly the same style but in three different colors from Maria Cornejo. Is there one thing you own multiple versions of?

New york city skyline black and white how to#

It took me a year to finish since I had to learn how to paint over curves. I painted a roadmap of the United States on a 1977 Porsche for a collector during COVID. What’s the last thing you made with your hands? I just think she’s hilarious and right all the time. Well, I don’t really want to hang out with her. Which New Yorker would you want to hang out with?įran Lebowitz. We used to have lots of knickknacks - antique toys and things designers always have - but I decided it was really creepy and got rid of them. What art or artifact are you most surprised you own?Īrtifacts are not a big part of our lives. If a design works in black and white - which is the clearest view of it - it’ll work in any color. This is really in relation to how I start working and where I go first. I lasted about a year and a half.īlack and white. What’s the first job you had in New York?ĭesigning the inside of children’s books at Random House.

new york city skyline black and white

We only hang our own work in the living room. But about 10 feet behind my couch is one of my paintings of the United States and on the side of my couch is one of my husband, Seymour Chwast’s, paintings of war. In pure honesty, nothing because my couch is in the middle of the room.















New york city skyline black and white